Tags

, , , , ,

MOST ESL STUDENTS GET  VERY CONFUSED  ABOUT THIS  IN ON AT PREPOSITIONS.

1- I  ALWAYS EXPLAIN  THAT WE USE IN FOR TIME  FOR BIG SPACES,  EXAMPLE  YEARS, MONTHS  CITIES COUNTRYS  LIKE IN THE MORNING, IN THE AFTERNOON BUT ONLY AT FOR NIGHT.

2- IN FOR SPACES FOR ALL IN- CLOSE AREAS. MY PHONE IS IN MY CAR.

3- WE USE ON FOR ALL FLAT SURFACES AND FOR DAYS EXAMPLE ON MONDAY ON TUESDAY ETC.

4- WE USE AT FOR SPECIFIC PLACES  AND LOCATIONS AND FOR  TIME EXAMPLE AT 12 NOON  AT MY SISTERS HOUSE ETC

SO I WILL SAY THE BIGGER THE SPACES WE USE IN THE SMALLER AT AND THE MIDDLE ON

I LIVE IN US, I LIVE IN NEW YORK I LIVE ON 5TH AVENUE 

AND I LIVE AT 42.21 5HT STREET ( NOTICE I USE AT TO GIVE THE EXACTLY LOCATION )

I HOPE THIS COULD BE USEFUL FOR ALL YOU

AND NOW YOUR CHANCE TO PRACTICE

http://esl.about.com/library/quiz/blgrquiz_prep3.htm

 

